Interlochen!!! 3/15/20

This summer I’m going to one of my favorite places on earth. It’s called Interlochen Center for the Arts. Last year I went for two weeks and studied general arts. In general arts you get to pick your electives that you will be doing for the next couple of weeks. I studied Arts & Crafts, Environmental Education, Modern Dance, LUNCH, Ceramics and Instrument Exploration. This year I am attending for audio engineering and production. I think it will be very fun!!! No I shall explain sound!!!

Basically sound waves are vibrations. The speaker vibrates, it moves the air. The air then bounces of of each other, until it reaches your ear. That’s why it’s called a sound wave. But if your ear is out of range for those vibrations to keep going to reach you, your ear won’t be able to hear the sound. In your throat you have vocal cords. Your vocal cords vibrate, making sound. Did you know that your vocal cords vibrate multiple times per second??? Or that there is no sound in space? This happens because there are no molecules there. Here on earth we have air molecules for the sound to travel through.

Interesting Facts about Sound Waves

I wonder if I’ll have fun at Interlochen?

I wonder how far sound can travel through water?

If sound can travel through air, what other gasses can it travel through?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar